Is Dairy Queen Ice Cream Gluten Free?

Dairy Queen is an American chain of soft serve ice cream and fast-food restaurants owned by International Dairy Queen, Inc.

The first DQ restaurant was located in Joliet, Illinois. It was operated by Sherb Noble and opened for business on June 22, 1940. It served a variety of frozen products, such as soft serve ice cream.

The company’s corporate offices are located in the Minneapolis suburb of Edina, Minnesota.

So now you know a little bit about Dairy Queen, let get down to the question:

Question: Is Dairy Queen ice cream gluten free?

Answer: Yes*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Dairy Queen Ice Cream

*The base ice cream at Dairy Queen IS gluten-free. However, most Dairy Queen products are not gluten-free, such as the cones, toppings and treats. Dairy Queen have compiled a list of all items which do not contain sources of gluten ingredients: wheat, rye, oats, or barley.

You can find details here, on their allergen & nutrition page.

On the Dairy Queen website it states:

Gluten is in many DQ products and cross-contact may easily occur during product preparation. For those with gluten sensitivity, we recommend trying one of our manufactured novelties: Dilly Bars, Buster Bar Treats, Fudge Bars, Vanilla Orange Bars, or Starkiss® Bars, which can be found in clear, sealed plastic wrappers. These products are made without wheat, rye, oats, or barley in a facility that has limited cross contact risk. This does not include Dilly Bars or Buster Bar Treats in paper bags, which are made on the store premises and are subject to potential cross contact.

Nutritional information can be found here.


Dairy Queen Vanilla Soft Serve: Modified milk ingredients, sugar, glucose, mono and diglycerides, guar gum, polysorbate 80, carrageenan and artificial flavour.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.