Fennel is a flavorful herb and spice that is widely used in various dishes and cooking practices. The herb comes from the carrot family and is native to the Mediterranean part of the world, making it a common spice in Greek, Turkish, and Albanian dishes, among other cultures.
Related: Is Tzatziki Gluten Free?
Fennel has a licorice-like flavor with a sweet, slightly bitter taste, and it is a versatile ingredient that can be used in a variety of dishes, including soups, stews, salads, and roasted meats. Fennel is also used to flavor liqueurs and is a common ingredient in many spice blends that you may find at the store.
Let’s find out if this herb and spice component contains any wheat or gluten ingredients . . .
Is Fennel Gluten Free?
Yes, Fennel is naturally gluten free. It is an herb that comes from a plant, meaning it has no other ingredients and/or allergens and does not contain wheat/gluten. Fennel is safe for people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy/intolerance.
So if you ever see Fennel in a list of ingredients or a spice mix, don’t worry, it is safe!
Fennel is a single ingredient itself and is naturally gluten free. It is an herb.
The Fennel plant has delicate leaves and produces clusters of small yellow flowers. The base of the stem is used most often in cooking in its raw form. The fennel seed can be used whole or as a ground up ingredient.
Fennel Nutrition Facts
Fennel is a low-calorie food that is rich in vitamins and minerals.
One cup (87 grams) of raw fennel contains the following nutrients:
- Calories: 27
- Total fat: 0.2 g
- Cholesterol: 0 mg
- Sodium: 5 mg
- Total carbohydrates: 6.3 g
- Dietary fiber: 3 g
- Sugars: 2.3 g
- Protein: 1.3 g
Fennel is a good source of vitamin C, potassium, and folate. It is also a rich source of antioxidants and phytonutrients, which are compounds that have been shown to have potential health benefits. Additionally, fennel has traditionally been used for its digestive benefits and is thought to have antispasmodic and anti-inflammatory effects.
More information about Fennel
Fennel is widely cultivated, both in its native range and elsewhere, for its edible, strongly flavored leaves and fruits. It is a very popular herb and can be found in a lot of spice mixes, products, and meals around the world.
Learn more about Fennel on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fennel