Is Ferrero Rocher Gluten Free?

The Ferrero Rocher was introduced in 1961 in Europe. Michele Ferrero, the credited inventor, named the chocolate after a grotto in the Roman Catholic shrine of Lourdes, Rocher de Massabielle.

Interesting fact: Rocher comes from the French and means rock or boulder.

The chocolate consisted of a whole roasted hazelnut (but since late 2017, only part of a hazelnut had been used) encased in a thin wafer shell filled with hazelnut chocolate and covered in milk chocolate and chopped hazelnuts.

Apart from Ferrero Rocher the Ferrero Groups consists of well-known brands such as Nutella, Kinder, Tic Tac and Thorntons. Check out our latest guide highlighting ALL Kinder Chocolate Products.

Before I was diagnosed with Coeliac disease, Ferrero Rocher was one of my favourite indulgent snacks. So, unfortunately, I have some bad news to report…

Question: Are Ferrero Rocher gluten free?

Answer: No


Ferrero Rocher

Ferrero Rocher contains wheat and therefore are not gluten-free, however, there are alternatives to this popular chocolate popping up in superstores which aim to fill the demand for this popular chocolate

Nutritional information can be found on the Ferrero website.


Milk Chocolate 30% (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Skimmed Milk Powder, Concentrated Butter, Emulsifier: Lecithins (Soya), Vanillin), Hazelnuts (28.5%), Sugar, Palm Oil, Wheat Flour, Whey Powder (Milk), Fat-Reduced Cocoa, Emulsifier: Lecithins (Soya), Raising Agent (Sodium Bicarbonate), Salt, Vanillin.

3 thoughts on “Is Ferrero Rocher Gluten Free?”

  1. My name is Mahmood Ahmed just I want to know being a Muslim can I eat Ferrero rocher chicklate are its products gluten and all other ingredients free which can not eat a Muslim
    Please tell me in details .

    • Hi Mahmood, thanks for your comment. Ferrero Rocher do contain gluten, so if you are not able to consume gluten I would avoid their chocolates.

  2. Hi Mahmood. I am both Muslim and coeliac (meaning I can’t eat gluten). Ferrero Rocher contains wheat which meaning its not suitable for gluten-free diets.

    However in terms of muslim, this chocolate is halal and you are able to eat it.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.