Is Guinness Gluten Free?

Guinness is a dark Irish dry stout that originated in the brewery of Arthur Guinness at St. James’s Gate, Dublin, Ireland, in 1759.

It is one of the most successful beer brands worldwide, brewed in almost 50 countries, and available in over 120. Sales in 2011 amounted to 850 million litres (220,000,000 US gal).

It is popular with the Irish, both in Ireland and abroad. In spite of declining consumption since 2001 it is still the best-selling alcoholic drink in Ireland where Guinness & Co. Brewery makes almost €2 billion annually.

In 1997, Guinness Plc merged with Grand Metropolitan to form the multinational alcoholic-drinks producer Diageo plc, based out of London

So now you know a little about Guinness let’s answer the most important question:

Question: Is Guinness Beer Gluten Free?

Answer: No


Unfortunately, like most beers and ales – Guinness is not gluten-free. It is brewed from barley, which is also roasted to give it its famous dark colour. Barley contains ‘gliadin’, a component found in gluten, which triggers inflammation in the small intestines.

Guinness Stout Beer


Nutritional Information:

A 12-ounce serving of Guinness sets you back 125 calories—just 15 more than the same serving of Bud Light. Alcohol is beer’s main calorie source, and since Guinness is just 4.2% ABV, it’s relatively low in calories.

Most beers are carbonated with carbon dioxide, but Guinness uses a mix of CO2 and nitrogen.

Find more nutritional info here.


Guinness stout is made from water, barley, roast malt extract, hops, and brewer’s yeast. A portion of the barley is roasted to give Guinness its dark colour and characteristic taste. It is pasteurised and filtered.

Don’t be disheartened that Guinness is not gluten free, there’s plenty of options for you in our Gluten Free Alcohol list.

2 thoughts on “Is Guinness Gluten Free?”

  1. Hi there, if I were to put guinness in a recipe for a hotpot and cook it in the oven for an hour would this still be not suitable for a gluten sufferer? I know the alcohol will burn off but I imagine the gluten will still be an issue? Many thanks!


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.