Is Honey Gluten Free?

Honey is a sweet, sugary food substance enjoyed by the global population. There aren’t too many people who haven’t tried this delectable treat.

Bees produce honey when they collect nectar from plants and then taking these collections to the hive.

Let’s find out if honey is free from wheat and gluten ingredients . . .

Is Honey Gluten Free?



Yes, natural honey is 100% gluten free. It is made specifically from the sugars of plants that bees regurgitate into the honeycombs. Sorry for the gross description, but that’s actually what happens. Read more about the whole process on Wikipedia.

Because honey is made from this process alone, it does not contain any wheat/gluten ingredients.

Here’s what you need to be careful for though. Make sure your honey doesn’t have additives or flavorings. Sometimes, this is where gluten derived ingredients can hide.

Related: Is Granulated Sugar Gluten Free?




Honey Ingredients

Honey is a natural product made up of glucose, other sugars, water, and vitamins/minerals. Read more about honey, its modern uses, and the ingredients from the National Library of Medicine.

For further context, honey is a mixture of sugars and other carbohydrates. Honey is mainly fructose (about 38%) and glucose (about 32%). (source)


Honey Nutrition Facts

Serv. Size: (100g), Amount Per Serving: Calories 304, Total Fat 0g, Sodium 4mg, Total Carb. 82.4g, Sugars 82g, Protein 0.3g. (source)


Read more about the chemistry of honey:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.