Is Horlicks Gluten Free?

Horlicks is a sweet malted milk hot drink that is also sold as a powdered meal replacement. It was developed by James and William Horlick in the early 20th century and is now a brand that is over 140 years old.

It is also known as the “The Original Malted Milk Drink”

Let’s find out if this “The Original Malted Milk Drink” is gluten-free…

Is Horlicks Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: No

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Horlicks Malt Drink

Horlick's Malt Drink
Horlicks is not gluten-free and is made of gluten-containing ingredients including wheat and barley.

It must, therefore, be avoided if you are sensitive to gluten or suffer from Celiac Disease.

Horlick Products

  • Horlicks Traditional
  • Horlicks Light Chocolate
  • Horlicks Light Chocolate

Horlicks Traditional Ingredients

Wheat Flour (46%) (contains calcium carbonate, ferric pyrophosphate, niacin and thiamin), malted barley (26%), dried whey (milk), sugar, calcium carbonate, dried skimmed milk, palm oil, salt, vitamin mix (vitamin C, niacin, vitamin E, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, Riboflavin, thiamin, folic acid, vitamin A, biotin, vitamin D, vitamin B12), ferric pyrophosphate, zinc oxide. Suitable for vegetarians.

Horlicks Traditional Nutritional Facts

Each 25g serving in 200ml semi-skimmed milk contains 188 calories. This consists of 28.1g of carbs, 9.5g of protein, 4.3g of fat, 1.0g of fiber and 0.1 g of salt –  source

For more information on Horlicks including access to a number of recipes, head over to the website here.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.