Is Hornitos Tequila Gluten Free?

Hornitos Tequila brand is synonymous with quality. It a premium tequila brand that believes nothing great happens without taking a chance. The tequila was founded in 1950 in honour of Mexican Independence Day by Don Francisco.

Don Francisco is famous for the agave-robust Reposado. He was also known to break the rules and processes in making tequila and created a crystalline Plata as well as an ultra-smooth and aromatic Añejo.

Let’s find out if this legendary tequila is gluten-free.

Is Hornitos Tequila Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Hornitos Tequila is gluten free and made from 100 % blue agaves, a plant that’s naturally gluten-free.

If you are sensitive to gluten or suffer from any form of Celiac Disease go for the Hornitos Plata Tequila.

According to Hornitos, this is a “100% pure agave tequila with 0% compromise”

Hornitos Plata Tequila is an excellent choice of tequila that can be taken straight or added as a base to your favourite gluten-free cocktail.

Hornitos Tequila bottle

Photo: Hornitos website


Hornitos products available:

Different types of tequilas offered by Hornitos.  Some are aged longer or made using a different process.

  • Hornitos Plata

  • Hornitos Reposado

  • Hornitos Añejo

  • Hornitos Cristalino

  • Hornitos Black Barrel

  • Hornitos Lime Shot

NOTE: At the time of writing we can only confirm that Hornitos Plata is gluten free. However, most premium quality tequila is gluten-free. You just need to take extra precaution if the tequila is flavoured or goes through a distillation process where there’s a small chance of the final product becoming contaminated.

SEE ALSO – Gluten Free Alcohol List


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.