Is Irn Bru Gluten Free?

IRN-BRU is a Scottish carbonated soft drink made to an original secret recipe, which contains 32 flavours.

It is often described as “Scotland’s other national drink”  and is produced by A.G. Barr.

Let find out if this popular Scottish carbonated soft drink is gluten free . . .

 

Is IRN-BRU Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES

 

IRN-BRU is safe for coeliacs and those who suffer from any form of gluten intolerance.

This is based on a recent reply from Irn Bru to a concerned customer of Twitter:

We can therefore safely assume that IRN-BRU is gluten free and safe for you to consume if you have any form of Celiac Disease or are gluten intolerant.

Irn Bru Products

All IRN-BRU products are indeed gluten free. Here is the current list of products:

  • IRN-BRU

  • IRN-BRU Sugar Free

  • IRN-BRU XTRA

  • IRN-BRU Energy

  • IRN-BRU Energy No Sugar

IRN-BRU Ingredients

Carbonated Water, Sugar, Acid (Citric Acid), Flavourings (Including Caffeine, Ammonium Ferric Citrate & Quinine), Sweeteners (Aspartame, Acesulfame K), Preservative (E211), Colours (Sunset Yellow FCF, Ponceau 4R)

Nutritional Information

TYPICAL VALUES PER 100ML

Energy 84kj/20 kcal
Fat 0g
of which saturates 0g
Carbohydrate 4.8g
of which sugars 4.7g
Protein 0
Salt <0.01g

source

For more information on IRN-BRU head over to the A.G. Barr website here.

Read next: Is Lucozade Gluten Free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.