Is Kinder Surprise Gluten-Free?

Kinder Surprise, also known as Kinder Egg or Ovetto Kinder or Kinder Surprise Egg, is a candy manufactured by the Italian company Ferrero since 1974.

It was co-created by Michele Ferrero and William Salice, and is one of several candies sold under the Kinder brand.

The chocolate eggs feature white chocolate on the inside and milk chocolate on the outside. But probably the most well-known thing about these kid’s treats is the hidden “surprise” inside the chocolate egg.

So let’s find out if this chocolate, with a surprise inside, is gluten-free:

Are Kinder Surprise Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: YES*

 

Kinder Surprise Egg

*As Kinder Surprise is made of 100% chocolate with no biscuit, wafers or other gluten-containing additives, it can be considered 100% gluten-free.

You can safely rest assured that your kids can enjoy the taste of Kinder chocolate, with a surprise and toy in every single egg, without eating gluten.

Updated (August 10, 2020) – Please do not confuse this product with the Kinder Joy Eggs products that are offered in the USA and other parts of the world. Kinder Joy Eggs are not gluten free and contain wheat.

Ingredients

Fine Milk Chocolate 47% (Sugar, Whole Milk Powder, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Emulsifier: Lecithins
(Soya), Vanillin, Skimmed Milk Powder, Sugar, Vegetable Fats (Palm, Shea), Concentrated Butter, Emulsifier: Lecithins (Soya), Vanillin.

Total Milk Constituents: 32% – Total Cocoa Constituents: 15%

Related: Are Oh Henry Bars Gluten Free?

Nutritional Facts

Source – Each 20g egg contains around 110 calories. They also contain 1.6g of protein, 10.5g of carbohydrates, 6.8g of fat, and 0.065g of Sodium.

For more information on Kinder Surprise and other products from Ferrero, check out their website here: www.ferrero.co.uk/Kinder-Surprise

3 thoughts on “Is Kinder Surprise Gluten-Free?”

  1. What happens if I ate a kit kat once in a week can I get a stomach ache if I just eat a kit kat in one day?

    Reply
  2. I was about to order kinder eggs after reading this but luckily amazon publishes the ingredients list. The 4th ingredient is wheat flour, the 6th is wheat germ. It also has malt extract, which contains gluten.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment Mandi. Keep in mind that Kinder Surprise and Kinder Joy Eggs (offered in the last few years and in America) are different products.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.