Is Kronenbourg Gluten Free?

Kronenbourg Beer/Larger was originally made in a brewery founded by Geronimus Hatt in 1664. The name comes from the area where the brewery relocated in 1850. The company is now owned by the Carlsberg Group who also make and distribute other popular alcoholic beverages such as Carlsberg Beer,  

The main brand is Kronenbourg 1664, a 5.0% abv pale lager.

Let’s find out a little bit more about Kronenbourg 1664. Is this beer/larger gluten free.

Is Kronenbourg 1664 Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Kronenbourg is made from gluten loaded ingredient, barley. It is therefore not suitable for you, if you are sensitive to gluten, or have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease.

In general, and as a rule of thumb you should avoid beer/larger. More often than not it will contain gluten.

According to Kronenbourg 1664 website – source:

Unfortunately, it isn’t suitable for vegetarians or vegans. Kronenbourg 1664 contains barley, one of the cereals that contains gluten, which means that Kronenbourg 1664 is not gluten free.

k1664 beers



Kronenbourg 1664 Ingredients

Water, malted barley, glucose syrup, hops, hop extract – Alcohol by Volume: 5.0%

Nutritional Information

Every 100ml of Kronenbourg 1664 consumed contains 44 calories. This consist of 3.8g carbs, 0g protein, 0g sugar, and 0g fats – source

For more information on Kronenbourg, head over to their official website here.

Read next: Is Heineken Gluten Free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.