Is Miso Soup Gluten Free?

Lately Miso soup has received more interest, growing in search popularity dramatically. Largely driven by social media trends on TikTok and other apps. Because of this, we decided it’s be a great time to cover this soup.

What is Miso?

Miso soup is a traditional Japanese soup made from dashi stock and miso paste. Also called Omiotsuke (御味御付), Miso soup is served with many optional ingredients such as various vegetables, depending on the region it is made in, or the season.

Being so popular, many people are wondering . . .

Is Miso Soup Gluten Free?

Yes, but…*


Yes, all of the ingredients outside of Miso paste are typically gluten free in Miso soup, however; sometimes Miso paste is made with barley. You also have to watch out for cross contamination, and the addition of sauces like soy sauce.

Always ask your chef or server if the Miso soup is gluten free.

Traditional Miso paste is made from fermenting soybeans with salt and koji. It’s just when ingredients like barley or wheat are added that you run into the risks as a gluten free consumer.

Read: How to Make Gluten Free Miso Soup


miso soup

Photo: Ryutaro Uozumi


Miso Soup Ingredients

Miso soup is made from dashi stock and miso paste. Dashi stocks are made from water, kombu (edible kelp), and shavings of katsuobushi – preserved, fermented skipjack tuna or bonito. Miso paste is made from fermented soybeans, salt, and koji (fungus). (Source: Miso, Dashi)

All of the ingredients are traditionally gluten free, unless gluten is added into the process as barley in miso paste.


Miso Soup Nutritional Facts

One serving of Miso soup contains 40 calories, 2 grams of fat, less than a gram of sodium, and 3 grams of protein.

Read about additional health benefits and find out if Miso Soup is good for you on WebMD:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.