Monster Energy is the 2nd largest energy drink company in the world and 2nd only to Red Bull. It was founded by the Hansen Natural Company in April 2002.
There are 34 different drinks under the Monster brand in including its core Monster Energy line, Java Monster, Extra Strength, Import, Rehab and Muscle Monster.
So let’s find out:
Is Monster Energy Gluten-Free?
The Answer is: YES
According to Monster, all their energy drinks are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million (20ppm). This only applies to the UK. It cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free in the USA.
In the US and other counties, all beverages that use cereal grains/wheat at any point in the manufacturing process are prohibited from advertising themselves as ‘gluten-free.’
It is best avoided if you are particularly sensitive. All research suggests that while some people can consume foods and drinks to 20ppm, some can have adverse effects in which case an alternative such as Red Bull would be a better choice.
Other important information on Monster Drinks
Monster Energy is not recommended for pregnant women or people sensitive to caffeine.
The caffeine content of most Monster Energy drinks is approximately 10 mg/oz (33.81 mg/100ml), or 160 mg for a 16 oz can.
The packaging usually contains a warning label advising consumers against drinking more than 48 oz per day (16 oz per day in Australia).
Monster Energy Ingredients
The ingredients include carbonated water, sucrose, glucose, citric acid, natural flavors, taurine, sodium citrate, color added, panax ginseng root extract, L-carnitine, L-tartarate, caffeine, sorbic acid, benzoic acid, niacinamide, sodium chloride, Glycine max glucuronolactone, inositol, guarana seed extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride, sucralose, riboflavin, maltodextrin, and cyanocobalamin.
For more information on Monster Energy Drink, check out their website here: monsterenergy.com