Is Olive Oil Gluten Free?

Olive oil is commonly found at Mediterranean restaurants, with Italian food, and so much more. It is popular all over the world and is used in a lot of meals and dressings.

What is Olive Oil?

Olive oil is made from the oils and liquid fats of olives. The process involved pressing whole olives to extract the pure oil.  Olive trees are common in the Mediterranean Basin, and beyond. They have been grown around the Mediterranean since the 8th millennium BC.(source)

Is Olive Oil Gluten Free?



Yes, olive oil is made from just olives. It’s completely free from gluten and wheat, unless there are additives after the fact. Sometimes olive oil has herbs and spices, but even then it is often gluten free and safe for people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy.

Olive oil is common in these cuisines:

  • Mediterranean food
  • Italian food
  • Arabic food
  • Spanish food


olive oil

Photo: Roberta Sorge


Olive Oil Ingredients

From pure olives. The oil (liquid fat) from olives.


Olive Oil Nutritional Facts

One tablespoon of olive oil (14g) contains the following nutritional information according to the USDA.

Nutritional Information: 1tbp serving contains 120 calories, 14g fat, 0g sugar, and 0g carbohydrates. (source)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.