Orzo is also known as risoni which means ‘large rice’), and is a form of short-cut pasta, shaped like a large grain of rice. Orzo is commonly used in Italian dishes, Greek dishes, and in some soups and salads. Looking to learn more about this unique pasta? Read on to find the ingredients, nutrition facts, common allergens, and more.
Related: The Best Gluten Free Pasta Recipes You Can Try Today
Since this is a common item in some popular dishes around the world, let’s find out if orzo is free from wheat and gluten ingredients . . .
Is Orzo Gluten Free?
NO
No, Orzo is not gluten free because it is typically made from wheat flour or semolina flour, a derivative of durum wheat. According to Wikipedia, ‘The name orzo is common for this pasta shape in North America, but less so in Italy, where the word means barley.’
Photo: Megan Bucknall
Orzo Ingredients
Typically Orzo is made from semolina, durum wheat, and other forms of flour.
Orzo Nutrition Facts
Based off the nutrition facts from Barilla for their Orzo Pasta product.
Serv. Size: 2 oz, Amount Per Serving: Calories 200, Total Fat 1g, Sodium 0mg, Total Carb. 42g, Sugars 1g, Protein 7g.
Are you wondering what is Orzo? Check out this informative article with more information about this unique form of pasta: https://www.allrecipes.com/article/what-is-orzo/