Is Ovaltine Gluten Free?

Ovaltine is a brand of milk flavoring product, available in 3 flavors that started in 1904 and is now a household name that “kids (and adults!) love”. Ovaltine claims that it makes nutrition easy by providing 12 essential vitamins and minerals with no artificial flavors or sweeteners.

Beyond milk, Ovaltine makes a great addition to smoothies, baked goods or sprinkled over ice cream for a chocolatey dessert!

Let’s find out if Ovaltine makes nutrition easy for everyone.

Is Ovaltine Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: No

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:


Ovaltine is made from barley malt extract and also “May contain wheat”, as it is processed in a facility that also processes wheat. There is no guarantee of it being gluten-free due to the possibility of cross-contamination.

It is now available in the following sizes and flavors.

  • OVALTINE® Classic Malt Mix – 12 oz
  • OVALTINE® Rich Chocolate Mix – 12 oz.
  • OVALTINE® Rich Chocolate Mix – 18 oz.
  • OVALTINE® Chocolate Malt Mix – 12 oz

Ovaltine Classic Malt Mix Ingredients

Sugar, Whey, Corn Maltodextrin, Malt Extract (Malt Barley, Barley, Caramel Color, Soy Lecithin), Non-fat Milk, Caramel Color, Beet Juice Color, Natural Flavor, Soy Lecithin, Salt, Molasses.

Source – Each serving of Ovaltine Classic Malt equates to 2tlsp (11 grams) and contains 40calories. They also contain 0g of protein, 9g of carbohydrates, 0g of fat, 0g of fibre, and 0.70g of salt.

1 thought on “Is Ovaltine Gluten Free?”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.