Patrón is created by the Patrón Spirits Company and is a leading tequila brand known for its exceptional quality.
It has been described by experts as a tequila which is smooth and easy to drink. So easy to drink that Patrón has been noted as being able to “turn anyone onto tequila”.
It is also a great cocktail mixer and is a great base for Margarita, Tequila Sunrise, and Paloma, but is this leading tequila brand ideal for you, if you are sensitive to gluten.
Let’s find out.
Is Patron Tequila Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES
Tequila is one of the safest and cleanest gluten-free choices to consider when looking for an alcoholic drink. Due to its quality, Patron Tequila is the number 1 choice within the tequila category.
It is made from “maguey” of the blue agave plant and contains no wheat and no cereal grains.
Patron Tequila Flavors
Here are the main product varieties of Patron Tequila:
- Patrón Silver – White spirit made from the finest Weber Blue Agave.
- Patrón Reposado – Aged at least two months for smooth taste with a hint of oak flavor.
- Patrón Añejo – Oak aged for over 12 months to produce a tequila perfect for sipping.
- Patrón Extra Añejo – A smooth, golden tequila aged in oak barrels for at least three years.
These are the main products with the Patron Tequila range.
Other notable flavors include:
Patrón XO Cafe Dark Cocoa – a premium Cocoa flavored version of Patron.
Patrón XO Cafe – a premium coffee-flavored version of Patron.
For more information on all available flavors, check out the products section of the Patrón website.
Facts on Patron Tequila
- Casa 7 Leguas produced the original Patrón Tequila. It is one of the oldest and most reputable Mexican distilleries.
- The brand rights for Patron were purchased by St. Maarten Spirits (owners John Paul DeJoria and Martin Crowley) in 1989 and in 2002 production moved to a new distillery.
- Patrón was sold to Bacardi, the world’s largest privately held spirits company, for $5.1 billion (In January 2018)