Plymouth Gin is produced by the Black Friars Distillery. This UK brand of gin dates back to and was founded in 1793. It is named after the southern port city of Plymouth, England.
The company and brand are owned by Pernod Ricard which also owns Beefeater Gin among other alcoholic beverages.
Let’s find out if this awarding winning brand of gin is gluten free.
Is Plymouth Gin Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES*
Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:
Plymouth Gin should be free of gluten.
*The distillation process used to produced distilled alcohols like gin removes impurities, such as gluten, from the resulting product. Therefore, there should be no gluten present in Plymouth Gin.
However, as gin is mostly produced using base alcohol distilled from grain, then flavoured with botanicals, it could pose a risk for those with severe reactions to gluten exposure, while others may consume Plymouth Gin without any adverse effects.
Learn more about gin & gluten.
There are currently 5 variants of Plymouth Gin. These are:
- Plymouth Gin
- Plymouth Gin Navy Strength
- Plymouth Sloe Gin
- Plymouth Gin Fruit Cup
- Mr King’s 1842 Recipe
For more information on Plymouth Gin, including tours of the distillery and cocktail recipes, head over to plymouthgin.com.
What do you think of Plymouth Gin? Have you had an allergic reaction to gin? Let us know by leaving a comment below.