Riesen was Germany’s very first candy brand. It is a popular brand of chocolate, that consists of dark chocolate on the outside, rich chocolate caramel on the inside.
It is distributed by August Storck KG; a German confectioner that also produces Riesen as well as other household brands such as Werther’s Original.
In the US, the candy is individually wrapped and sold in medium, large, and club-sized bags; while In the UK, the candies come loose in packs of 5.
According to the Storch KG, “RIESEN fans all over the world still love the intense, chocolatey taste. The secret lies in the rich caramel filling, which is enrobed by a thick layer of dark chocolate” –source.
Let’s find out if this chocolate with flavored caramel is gluten-free . . .
Is Riesen Gluten Free?
The Answer is: NO
No , Riesen is not gluten-free and is made from glucose syrup that uses wheat as well as other wheat-based ingredients.
Riesen must therefore be avoided if you suffer from any form of coeliac disease or are gluten intolerant as it could be detrimental to your health.
There are 2 varieties of Riesen products. Neither of these products is gluten-free:
GLUCOSE SYRUP (FROM WHEAT OR CORN), SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE LIQUOR, COCOA BUTTER, BUTTERFAT, SOY LECITHIN EMULSIFIER, VANILLA POWDER), SUGAR, WHEY, PALM OIL, CONDENSED SKIM MILK, COCOA PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, SORBITOL (FROM WHEAT OR CORN), REDUCED MINERALS WHEY, FOOD STARCH-MODIFIED.
ALLERGY INFORMATION: CONTAINS MILK, SOYBEANS AND WHEAT.
PROCESSED IN A FACILITY WHERE HAZELNUTS, ALMONDS, PEANUTS AND OTHER NUTS ARE PRESENT.
Every 3 pieces of Riesen; 27g contains 120 calories. This consists of 19g carbs, 1g protein, 5g fat, and 0.20g sodium – source
For more information on Riesen, head over to the Storck KG website here: https://www.storck.us/en/brands/riesen/