Is Sapporo Beer Gluten Free?

Sapporo is the oldest brand of beer in Japan. It is registered under Sapporo Breweries Ltd. a Japanese beer brewing company founded in 1876.

It was first brewed in Sapporo, Japan, in 1876 by brewer Seibei Nakagawa.

According to the Sapporo website: “Sapporo Premium Beer is a refreshing lager with a crisp, refined flavour and a clean finish. The perfect beer to pair with any meal and any occasion. Kampai!”

Sapporo Premium has been the #1 selling Asian beer in the United States since Sapporo U.S.A., Inc. was first founded in 1984.

Let’s find out if the oldest brand of beer in Japan and the #1 selling Asian beer in the United States is gluten-free.

Is Sapporo Beer Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO

Although Sapporo Beer is a rice beer it is not gluten-free and is also made with barley.

Sapporo Beer should, therefore, be avoided if you are sensitive to gluten or have been diagnosed with any form of Celiac Disease.

 

sapporo premium beer

Photo: Sapporo

 

Products

Here are the 4 main beers produced by Sapporo:

  • Sapporo Premium Beer
  • Sapporo Premium Black
  • Sapporo Premium Light
  • Sapporo Reserve Beer

For more information on Sapporo head over to the official website here: https://sapporobeer.com

 

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.