Is Sesame Gluten Free?

Sesame is commonly used in so many foods and recipes. The sesame seed is one of the oldest oilseed crops known, domesticated well over 3000 years ago.

Sesame has one of the highest oil contents of any seed and has a very rich flavor making it a common ingredient across cuisines.

Being used so often in various meals and dishes, many people are wondering . . .

Is Sesame Gluten Free?



Yes! Sesame seeds come from the flowing plant Sesame, also known as benne, from the genus Sesamum.

Sesame and sesame seeds do not contain gluten. They are from a different plant! Things like sesame oil, certain dips including sesame like hummus and tahini, and other forms of the sesame plant are all gluten free as a raw ingredient.


sesame seeds


Nutritional Information

Sesame is a good source of fiber and contains a significant amount of protein.

Check out all the health benefits of sesame seeds in this guide from Healthline:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.