Is Southern Comfort Gluten Free?

Southern Comfort is an American whiskey-flavored liqueur that is made with fruit and spice.

The smooth-drinking whiskey was originally created by bartender Martin Wilkes Heron in 1874 in New Orleans and is nick-named “The Spirit of New Orleans”.

Let find out if this “smooth drinking whiskey” is gluten free.

Is Southern Comfort Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Southern Comfort is not gluten free. If you are highly sensitive to gluten, Southern Comfort may not be a great choice of Whiskey.  Our research led us to find that although some Celiacs consume Southern Comfort with no adverse effects. There is a minority who react and have an allergic reaction to consuming Southern Comfort that claims it is not gluten-free.

The fact that this is a flavored whiskey also led us to be cautious as flavored whiskeys are more like to become contaminated with third party ingredients which are used to flavor the whiskey. These can include caramels and other additives that may contain gluten. Because there are no ingredients labels on alcohol bottles, it can be hard to know for sure.

Check out our list of gluten-free alcoholic drinks here if you are seeking a truly gluten-free alternative.

southern comfort

Photo: gingerboximages


Southern Comfort is available in 3 varieties:

  • Southern Comfort Original

  • Southern Comfort Black

  • Southern Comfort 100 Proof

For more information on Southern Comfort as well as access to a selection of cocktail recipes check out the official website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.