Soy Lechithin is common ingredient and additive in a lot of foods. So many people wonder where it comes from, and what it contains?
What is Soy Lecithin?
Soy Lecithin is a food additive, that comes from the soybean. It is used in a lot of different foods, supplements, and products from thousands of brands. It’s an excellent emulsifier and helps bind foods, which is why it is so commonly used.
Is Soy Lecithin Gluten Free?
Yes, soy lecithin is gluten free and does not contain any wheat/gluten ingredients. It is made from the soybean and does not have any other ingredients.
Soy Lecithin is also said to present a low risk for people who are allergic to Soy, because it is almost fully removed in the manufacturing process.
Some people have other concerns, such as the fact that some soy lecithin may be made from GMOs, but for the sake of this specific article, it presents no risk to people with gluten allergies or Celiac Disease.
Photo: Thomas Kinto
Soy Lecithin Ingredients
Made from soybean oil. Native lecithin is derived from soybean oil in four steps: hydration of phosphatides, separation of the sludge, drying, and cooling. (source)
Soy Lecithin Nutritional Facts
1 serving of soy lecithin (5g) contains 6 calories, .4g carbs, 0g protein, and 2.6g fats. (source)
Read more facts about Lecithin here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lecithin