Is Stella Artois Gluten-Free?

Stella Artois is a Belgian pilsner which is now owned by Interbrew International B.V. a subsidiary of the world’s largest brewer, Anheuser-Busch InBev SA/NV.

It has an alcoholic content of 4.8 and 5.2% ABV and was first brewed by Brouwerij Artois (the Artois Brewery) in Leuven, Belgium, in 1926.

In 2008, a 4% ABV version was also introduced and sold in Britain, Ireland and Canada.

Let’s find out if this popular Belgian Beer is gluten-free.

Is Stella Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: No ( but their Stella Artois Gluten Free is now available in supermarkets)

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Stella Artois Bottle

The original Stella Artois is not gluten-free. However, in August 2018, Stella Artois broadened its product range with the launch of a gluten-free beer variant, after Carlsberg brought its own gluten-free lager to the UK several years ago.

It is clearly labeled as Stella Artois Gluten Free and is available in most supermarkets across the UK.

Stella Artois ingredients

Stella Artois is advertised as containing “only 4 ingredients: hops, malted barley, maize, and water”.

Yeast is also an ingredient used in the fermentation process, but almost all of it is removed before packaging.

Ingredients: Saaz hops, malted barley, maize, yeast, water

For information on Stella Artois, head over to their website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.