Strongbow cider is a popular English dry cider served in bars around the UK. The crisp & refreshing drink is just a popular drink for many pub goers in the UK, but can it be enjoyed by coeliacs?
Is Strongbow Cider Gluten Free?
The answer is: YES
Strongbow cider is a great gluten-free alternative to beer. The primary ingredient in Strongbow cider is apple juice. As there is no wheat or barley used in its production, Strongbow cider is gluten free. Colouring and sweeteners are added, though these are gluten-free too.
As an English coeliac, Strongbow Original Cider is my go-to drink when visiting the pub. It’s refreshingly crisp bittersweet taste is a thirst-quenching reward at the end of a hard day’s work. If you’re a recently diagnosed coeliac worrying about what to do at the pub, fear not – Strongbow Cider is thankfully gluten-free.
More Information about Strongbow
In the UK, Strongbow is available on draught at 4.5% ABV and in cans and bottles at 5% ABV. In 2012 the UK packaged versions were reduced from 5.3% ABV to 5.0% ABV.
Strongbow Gold is the variant available in mainland Europe and is available only in bottles. It was launched in May 2011, and its major markets include Italy and Hungary. It is 5% ABV and designed to be served over ice. It is over 50% apple juice, making it a similar product to Magners and Stella Cidre.
Facts About Strongbow cider
- Strongbow is a dry cider produced by H. P. Bulmer, the same people who produce Bulmers Cider
- Strongbow has been produced in England since 1962 and is currently the world’s most popular cider
- The cider is named after English knight Richard de Clare, whose nickname “Strongbow”
- Strongbow is a blend of bitter-sweet cider and cooking apples, using 50 different varieties of apple!