Is Toffifee Gluten Free?

Toffifee is a crunchy hazelnut candy with nougat cream and a drop of dark chocolate on top.

Launched in Germany in 1973, it was the world’s first confectionery of its kind. Today Toffifee is enjoyed by people in more than one hundred countries.

Let’s find out if it’s gluten free . . .

 

Is Toffifee is Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO*

 

We were unable to find a definitive answer. According to the Toffifee website, it is virtually gluten free:

Toffifee is virtually gluten free. Its gluten levels are so negligible that Toffifee meets all European legal requirements. Based on the requirements of the regulation (EC) 41/2009 we can name Toffifee “Gluten Free” (gluten not more than 20 ppm).

This does not instill confidence in those who are particularly sensitive to gluten and wheat.

If you are extremely sensitive to gluten, it is recommended that you avoid Toffifee due to the fact that the glucose syrup may contain wheat which could be detrimental to some celiacs.

 

toffifee candy
Toffifee closeup with normal lens and achromat. Mörfelden-Walldorf, 2016 Photo: Flickr

Ingredients

sugar, vegetable fats (palm, shea), hazelnuts, glucose syrup, skimmed milk powder, humectant: sorbitol syrup, cocoa mass, condensed skimmed milk, condensed whey (milk), lactose (milk), fat-reduced cocoa, cocoa butter, butterfat (milk), partially inverted refiners syrup, whey powder (milk), emulsifier: soya lecithin, salt, flavourings.

Nutritional Information

Each 8.3g piece of Toffifee consists of 4.9g carbs, 0.5g protein, 2.4g fat and 0.02g salt – source

For more information on Toffifee head over to the official website here: www.toffifee.com

 

Read next: Is Yorkie Gluten Free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.