Is Tylenol Gluten Free?

Tylenol is a brand of headache, pain relief, cold relief, and fever reduction medicine products from McNeil Consumer Healthcare. Primarily used when you get a cold or fever, and sometimes for things like allergies too, various types of Tylenol can be found in many drugstores and shopping locations around the world.

According to Wikipedia: ‘As of 2017, the “Tylenol” brand was used in Brazil, Canada, China, Egypt, Lebanon, Myanmar, Oman, the Philippines, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, the United States, and Vietnam.’

So let’s find out if this popular brand for drugs used to relieve pain, colds, and fevers offers gluten free products…


Is Tylenol Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NOT CONFIRMED*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

A PDF document released by McNeil in February 2008 originally confirmed certain Tylenol products to be tested and shown to contain no detectable levels of gluten. The report also states a few facts and findings from McNeil in regards to the rest of their products:

  1. Glutens are naturally-occurring proteins found in grains such as wheat, rye, barley, and oats, but are not found in corn. The primary source of starch in McNeil/JV product formulations is corn. Relatively small amounts of other materials used in their formulations may contain starch from other sources (e.g. potato, rice).
  2. As of 2008, the company was unaware of any published reports associating the use of Tylenol and other McNeil products with worsening of symptoms in patients with celiac disease.

Unfortunately, McNeil-PPC recently retracted this list and instead issued this statement: “Although we don’t add gluten or gluten containing grains to our products, we cannot confirm that the product or any ingredients in TYLENOL products are gluten free. Your safety is of great concern to us; therefore, we strongly recommend that you first consult your doctor before using any product if you have a form of gluten intolerance or sensitivity.” Source: Verywell Fit

Because of this statement, we cannot confirm any Tylenol products to be gluten free and safe for people with Celiac Disease or an allergy.

However; there is some good news! This article from Poe Knight of Celiac Savvy details the somewhat frustrating experience of trying to find gluten free pain relievers! Through their research, Poe ends up testing various medicines and found generic Tylenol (acetaminophen) to be gluten free. Read more from

SEE ALSO – Gluten Free Vitamins and Supplements List

Read next: Is NyQuil Gluten Free?

tylenol drugs medicine

More: 6 Essential Health Tips for Coeliacs


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.