Is Tzatziki Gluten Free?

Tzatziki is a yogurt dip with herbs and seasonings that is from the Mediterranean diet. It is very common in places like Greece, Turkey, Armenia, and all around the Middle East. It’s popularized with Greek food and is often found in a gyro or pita.

Being such a popular sauce, many people are wondering . . .

Is Tzatziki Gluten Free?



Yes, usually tzatziki is gluten free as prepared. The typical ingredients for a traditional tzatziki are:

  • Greek Yogurt
  • Cucumbers
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Dill
  • Lemon Juice

Sometimes other seasonings and flavors are added, but it is pretty much always gluten free! Tzatziki is considered safe for people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy. Just watch out for things like pita bread, pita chips, falafel, gyro, and other foods that tzatziki may be served with.

Recommended Gluten Free Tzatziki Recipe:


tzatziki cucumber salad


Nutritional Information

Based on a 2 tablespoon serving from the site.

Contains 130 calories, 0 grams of protein, 14 grams of fat, and 0 grams of fiber. Contains 230mg sodium, 12mg calcium, and less than 1g carbs.



The Health Benefits of Tzatziki

Check out all the health benefits of tzatziki in this guide from Verywell Fit:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.