Is Vimto Gluten Free?

Vimto is a soft drink sold in the United Kingdom. It was first manufactured as a health tonic in cordial form, then decades later as a carbonated drink.

It contains the juice of grapes, raspberries and blackcurrants, flavoured with herbs and spices, but does it contain gluten.

Let’s find out…

Is Vimto Gluten Free?

The Answer is: Questionable*


Yes, Vimto is considered gluten-free because the company states it contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten. However; users have reported reactions to this drink, so if you have Coeliac Disease we recommend avoiding Vimto.

According to the Vimto FAQ page:

Vimto is classed as gluten-free. There is a very small amount of gluten present which carries through from the barley malt used in its manufacture, but the level is far below the threshold above which it would be considered to contain gluten (20 parts per million).

Vimto Squash Products

  • Vimto Original Squash*
  • Vimto No Added Sugar Squash
  • Watermelon, Strawberry & Peach

You can find more information on the complete range of Vimto products here.

Related: Is Lucozade Gluten Free?


vimto range

Vimto Range – Nichols PLC


Vimto Original Squash Ingredients

Water, Mixed Fruit Juices From Concentrate 10% (Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry), Acids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid), Vimto Flavouring (Including Natural Extracts of Fruits, Herbs, Barley Malt and Spices), Vegetable and Plant Extracts *, Sweeteners (Sucralose, Acesulfame K), Preservatives (Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate), Vitamin C, Acidity Regulator (Sodium Citrate).

Nutritional Information

Every 100ml of Vimto consumed contains 19 calories. This consists of 4.7g carbs, 0g protein, 0g fat and 0.03g salt.

For more information on Vimto, including info on their complete range of products head over to the official website here:

2 thoughts on “Is Vimto Gluten Free?”

  1. Arse holes! fuck You and your shitty drink I have coeliac disease and I usually drink your stuff so why the fuck am I just discovering now you are the reason I am Bed ridden? I can’t even move to see my own kids worst pain ever I only just discovered I have coeliac disease and I googled online to see if you are gluten free you said yes well your not! So get better labels or just sort your self out so I can drink vimto and feel safe total raging About this


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.