Is Wasabi Gluten Free?

Wasabi is a popular condiment for sushi and other dishes. According to Wikipedia ‘Wasabi or Japanese horseradish is a plant of the family Brassicaceae, which also includes horseradish and mustard in other genera. A paste made from its ground rhizomes is used as a pungent condiment for sushi and other foods.

Wasabi is generally sold either as a rhizome or stem, which must be very finely grated before use, as dried powder, or as a ready-to-use paste in tubes similar to toothpaste tubes.’

Related sushi ingredients: Masago, Soy Paper, Sesame

Because wasabi is so commonly used with sushi and other dishes, many people are wondering . . .

Is Wasabi Gluten Free?


*While it is easy to find wasabi that is gluten free, we came across multiple wasabi products that contained wheat and wheat dietary fiber during our research. Therefore we recommend always checking the labels to confirm. Wasabi is an item that may contain wheat ingredients and could cause reactions, so always consider it.

Here are a few popular gluten free Wasabi products we found:


gluten free wasabi

Photo: Star Market



From ‘Muso From Japan Real Wasabi, 1.52 Ounce‘ Product on Amazon.

Wasabi (Wasabia Japonica), Sweet Potato Syrup , Green Pea Fiber, Rice Oil, Salt, Water, Tapioca Dextrine


Nutritional Information

Limited information about nutritional facts for wasabi products could be found. Refer to specific product packaging for more information.

Read more about what wasabi is here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.