Wine is one of the most popular alcoholic beverages in the world. Enjoyed across continents, this alcoholic drink dates back to 6000 BCE!
Made of fermented grapes, wine flavors vary dramatically and there are a ton of different types and styles of wines. Popular types of wine include Chardonnay, Riesling, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Malbec, and Merlot. Check out this complete guide to the Common Types of Wine from Wine Folly.
See also: Ultimate Guide to Gluten Free Alcohol
Let’s find out if wine is free from wheat and gluten ingredients . . .
Is Wine Gluten Free?
Yes, generally wine is 100% gluten free because it is made entirely from grapes. There are some cases where there may be a risk of gluten contamination based on the ‘fining’ process, but this is not too common when you are drinking unflavored and pure wines. Read more about the safety of wine on Beyond Celiac.
Types of Wine:
Photo: Kelsey Knight
Wine Production Facts
Wine is a major business. Because the location and region plays such a major role, lots of different countries participate in the wine economy. Here are the top 10 largest producers of wine in the world:
- United States
- South Africa
Wine is made from fermented grapes. Different types of grapes are used to make different styles of wine. The region, type of grape, season, amount of skin contact, and many other factors play a role in the final flavor and taste of wine.
Wine Nutrition Facts
Based on Red Table Wine. Alcohol percentage: 13% vol.
Serv. Size: 100g (3.5 fl oz), Amount Per Serving: Calories 85, Total Fat 0g, Sodium 0mg, Total Carb. 2.6g, Sugars .6g, Protein 0.1g.