Is Jagermeister Gluten Free?

Jägermeister is an alcoholic drink that is made with 56 herbs and spices. It is the flagship product of Mast-Jägermeister SE, headquartered in Wolfenbüttel, Germany.

The full ingredient list is a closely guarded secret but here is what we do know for sure. At a strength of 35% alcohol by volume, let’s find out more about its gluten-free contents:

Is Jagermeister Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Jagermeister Bottle

*Jägermeister consist of fruits, roots, and spices, including citrus peel, licorice, anise, poppy seeds, saffron, ginger, juniper berries, and ginseng. These ingredients are ground, then steeped in water and alcohol for two to three days. Thereafter, this mixture is filtered and stored in oak barrels for about a year.

When a year has passed, the liqueur is filtered again, then mixed with sugar, caramel, and alcohol.

Our recent research led us to the celiac forum where we found a customer’s post and a reply from a representative at Jagermeister.

Here is the response:

JYes, agermeister Gluten Free

Jagermeister is gluten-free and is, therefore, a safe drink for those with Celiac disease and sensitive to gluten.

For more information on Jagermeister, visit


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.