Is Jim Beam Gluten Free?

Jim Beam is one of the best-selling brands of bourbon in the world and is produced in Clermont, Kentucky, by Beam Suntory, a subsidiary of Suntory Holdings of Osaka, Japan.

Let’s find out if this top-selling bourbon whiskey is ideal for the gluten-sensitive…

Is Jim Beam Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Jim Beam Bourbon

*Jim Beam is produced from the fermentation and distillation of corn, rye, and malted barley. Rye and barley are two of the three gluten grains. Any food or drink which contains these ingredients is mostly unsafe for if you have celiacs diseases.

However, although Jim Beam is produced using gluten-containing grains, it is generally accepted that all distilled whiskey such as Jim Beam is gluten-free due to the distillation process which is said to remove impurities like gluten.

Nevertheless, some gluten-sensitive celiacs can have an adverse reaction.

If you are extremely sensitive to gluten, Jim Bean is best avoided. Check out our gluten-free alcoholic list here if you are seeking a beverage which is 100% safe and ideal.

Jim Beam Flavours and Varieties

The Jim Beam product range consists of the following:

  • Jim Beam Original  –  aged 4 years in new charred oak barrels, 80 proof, the flagship whiskey
    Jim Beam Black – “extra aged”; and 86 proof
    Jim Beam Devil’s Cut – aged 6 years, uses bourbon extracted from the cask’s wood after emptying, 90 proof
    Jim Beam Bonded – aged 4 years, 100 proof, bottled in bond
    Jim Beam Double Oak – matured in two barrels
    Jim Beam Single Barrel – 95 proof

They have also recently introduced a range of favored bourbon whiskey:

  • Jim Beam Apple – with apple liqueur
  • Jim Beam Honey – with honey liqueur
  • Jim Beam Kentucky Fire – with cinnamon liqueur
  • Jim Beam Maple – with maple liqueur
  • Jim Beam Red Stag – with black cherry liqueur
  • Jim Beam Vanilla – with vanilla liqueur

Many celiacs avoid flavored whiskey because the distillation process may leave traces of gluten and additional flavorings can sometimes be contaminated by third party manufacturers, oftentimes without the knowledge of the producer.

To see the other products in the Jim Beam collection and for more information, head over to the website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.