Is Krackel Gluten-Free?

Krackel is a milk chocolate with crisped rice bar which is a long-time consumer favorite. It is produced and marketed by US conglomerate The Hershey Company.

The Hershey Company also manufacture famous candy brands and consumer favorites such as Mr. Goodbar, PaydayReesesHersheys Kisses, Milk Duds, and Twizzlers.

Let’s find out if this milk chocolate with crisped rice bar is gluten-free.


Is Hershey’s Krackel Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: No*


Hershey Krackel Bars

*Although the ingredients in your typical contain no gluten, Hershey does not list it on its gluten-free range of products as “being fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards established by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)” on their website here.

We have therefore concluded that Krackel is not gluten-free due to the fact that there may be some cross-contamination issues with their processing/packaging of candy bars.

Krackel Ingredients

Source – Milk Chocolate, Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Nonfat Milk, Milk Fat, Lecithin, PGPR (EMULSIFIER), Vanillin (ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), Rice Flour, Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of: Malt Extract, Salt, Monoglycerides

Nutritional Facts

Source – Each 56 g bar contains 287 calories. This consists of 36 grams of carbs, 3.7 grams of protein, 15 grams of fat, 1.2 grams of fiber and 0.110g of sodium.


1 thought on “Is Krackel Gluten-Free?”

  1. Krackle Bar is not gluten free because it has malt in it, which comes from Barley, which is not a gluten free grain. Anything with malt is NOT gluten free.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.