Long John Silver’s is a seafood fast food chain that first opened in Lexington, KY in 1969. Since then the company has expanded to over 1,000+ restaurants around the United States, and internationally. Known for their fried seafood and hushpuppies, Long John Silver’s is a popular option for people who enjoy fish, shrimp, and other seafood meals.
What is gluten free at Long John Silver’s?
In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Long John Silver’s. Want to learn more nutrition facts about Long John Silver’s foods? Check out their nutritional brochure here, and view their master ingredient list here.
Warning: Long John Silver’s has primarily fried foods containing wheat in the same fryer. So the cross contamination risk at this fast food chain is extremely high.
Long John Silver’s Gluten Free Menu
These are all the gluten free options we could find at Long John Silver’s. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on the Long John Silver’s Master Ingredient List. These items still have the potential for cross contamination and other traces of gluten, so please keep that in mind. The risk for cross contamination at Long John Silver’s is HIGH.
Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: October 18, 2022
Grilled
These are all of the grilled options at Long John Silver’s that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients. Warning: Cross contamination potential on shared grill spaces.
- Grilled Salmon
- Grilled Shrimp
- Grilled Salmon Rice Bowl
- Grilled Shrimp Rice Bowl
- Variety Platter – Grilled Shrimp and Salmon
Sides
These are all of the side options at Long John Silver’s that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Coleslaw
- Cut Corn
- Fire Roasted Southwest Corn Blend
- Green Beans – Seasoned
- Rice* (contains maltodextrin)
Sauces
These are all of the sauce options at Long John Silver’s that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Baja Sauce
- BBQ Sauce
- Cocktail Sauce
- Creamy Garlic Butter Sauce
- Creamy Ranch Dressing
- Honey Mustard Sauce
- Ketchup
- Sweet Chili Sauce
- Tartar Sauce
Drinks
These are all of the drink options at Long John Silver’s that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Pepsi
- Diet Pepsi
- Cherry Pepsi
- Dr Pepper
- Mountain Dew
- Sierra Mist
- Lipton Iced Tea
Photo: Long John Silver’s Menu
Items to Avoid at Long John Silver’s
- Unfortunately, almost everything contains gluten at Long John Silver’s outside of a few grilled options, some sides, and some sauces.
- Items share the same fryers, so they will have significant cross contamination.
- Watch out for these sauces, they contain gluten, barley, or wheat: Sweet & Zesty Asian Sauce, Louisiana Hot Sauce, Malt Vinegar
- The fries contain wheat flour batter.
- No desserts are gluten free.
Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Long John Silver’s
Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Long John Silver’s
- When you order at the store or on the app for delivery/pickup, tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your food.
- Long John Silver’s does not have many options, and we could not find any reviews on Find Me Gluten Free for this restaurant chain, indicating very few gluten free customers/experiences.
- Personal experiences here are unknown. I have never been to Long John Silver’s before, but will update this post if I have the chance to try it sometime.
Photo: Long John Silver’s Facebook page
More Information about Long John Silver’s
Looking for additional information about Long John Silver’s, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found:
- Official Long John Silver’s Menu: https://www.ljsilvers.com/seafood/
- Official Long John Silver’s Nutrition Brochure: http://www.ljsilvers.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/nutrition.pdf
- Official Long John Silver’s Master Ingredient List: https://www.ljsilvers.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/LJS-Ingredient-List-Revised-2020-10.pdf