Is Malibu Gluten Free?

Malibu Rum is the world’s best-selling Caribbean rum with natural coconut flavor and a smooth and sweet finish.

Malibu Rum is the perfect sweet beverage “for when the sun’s setting and the good times are flowing”. It is often enjoyed in cocktails like the classic Piña Colada or simply mixed with pineapple or cola.

Popular cocktails aside, let’s get to the important question. Can it be enjoyed by those who are sensitive to gluten and have celiac disease?

Is Malibu Rum Gluten Free?

The Answer is: Yes*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

*Here is what Malibu had to say about this:

The processes of distillation should eliminate cereal proteins from distilled spirits drinks and therefore distilled drinks are generally accepted for a gluten-free diet. Please note however, that we cannot offer specific advice, and recommend that the individual should discuss these matters with their medical or dietetic advisors

Malibu now produces many flavors of rum which possesses an alcohol content by volume of 21.0 % (42 proof).

Here is the complete list of Malibu Rum products:

  • Malibu Original White Rum with Coconut
  • Malibu Passion Fruit
  • Malibu Pineapple
  • Malibu Lime

Facts on Malibu Rum


  1. As of 2017, the Malibu brand is owned by Pernod Ricard, who calls it a “flavored rum”.
  2. The product was created by Tom Jago of International Distillers & Vintners and originally made from fruit spirits, flavored with rum and coconut flavoring in Curaçao. Production was then moved to Barbados, where the rum is made by West Indies Rum Distillery Ltd., and the quality of the ingredients used was improved.
  3. The brand was sold by Diageo to Allied Domecq for £560m ($800m) in 2002. In 2005, French company Pernod Ricard purchased Allied Domecq for $14 billion.

For more information on Malibu as well as nutritional information and a few cocktail ideas, head over to their website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.