Are Mars Bars Gluten Free?

With Mars chocolate bars available in over 78 countries worldwide, it’s pretty tough to find a store that doesn’t sell these popular treats.

Mars is a variety of candy bar produced by Mars, Incorporated. It was first manufactured in 1932 in Slough, England by Forrest Mars, Sr.

The original British version of the Mars bar consists of caramel and nougat coated with milk chocolate. It is said to resemble the American candy bar known as the Milky Way, which had been introduced by Forrest a decade earlier.

Mars Bars are well known for the catchy and memorable slogan “Work, Rest and Play”, however, is this slogan also applicable to people who are gluten intolerant? Let’s find out:

Is Mars Bar Gluten Free?

The Answer is: No*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Mars Bars contain barley malt extract which is not gluten-free. Also, the glucose syrup used in Mars may be derived from wheat. It is therefore not ideal for those who are gluten intolerant and suffer from celiac disease.


Sugar, Glucose Syrup (Sources Include Wheat), Milk Solids, Vegetable Fat, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Barley Malt Extract, Cocoa Powder, Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin), Salt, Egg White, Natural Flavours (Vanilla Extract).

Nutritional Facts

Each original sized Mars Bar contains 250 calories, 25.5g of sugar, 15.0g of fat and 0.05g of sodium.

More information on Mars Bar can be found here:

3 thoughts on “Are Mars Bars Gluten Free?”

  1. Hi JJ
    Thank you for your article re Mars bars not being gluten free, it is a pity.
    They are not gluten free because they contain barley malt extract.
    The use of glucose syrup derived from wheat is considered gluten free by Coeliac Australia. Although it is an individuals choice to consume products containing glucose syrup derived from wheat.
    Coeliac Australia has an interesting pdf article on Glucose syrup derived from wheat.
    If you search Glucose syrup derived from wheat fact sheet, I’m sure you will find it.
    Kind Regards


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.