Perkins is an American restaurant chain serving breakfast, homestyle meals, and other baked goods like pies and muffins. They have over 320 locations throughout 32 states in the US, and have a lot of locations throughout the midwest.
What is gluten free at Perkins?
In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Perkins. Want to learn more nutrition and allergen facts about Perkins’ foods? Check out their gluten free page here.
At Perkins® Restaurants we believe in putting it all on the table. This list of menu items was put together with information from our food suppliers. These menu items as noted are not prepared with ingredients that contain gluten or wheat when prepared by our standard recipes. However, all of our menu items are prepared in a common kitchen with gluten exposure. Therefore, these menu items may come in contact with ingredients that contain gluten through shared cooking and preparation areas. Due to these circumstances, we cannot guarantee that any menu item can be completely free of gluten. Perkins & Marie Callender’s, LLC, its franchisees and employees do not assume responsibility and do not make any warranty, either express or implied, regarding the completeness or currency of this information. We do not recommend these items for guests with celiac disease. Guests with gluten sensitivities or wheat allergies should exercise caution when ordering and consuming these items. The material below is provided for informational purposes only and is not meant to substitute for the advice provided by your own physician or other healthcare professional.
Most food allergies and sensitivities are triggered by common foods such as dairy, eggs, peanut, wheat, gluten, nuts, fish, shellfish and soy. A food allergic reaction typically occurs when the body’s immune system overreacts to a particular protein found in these foods. Fortunately, most guests are aware if they have a specific food allergy or sensitivity and can avoid foods that may cause them a health problem.
This guide lists a number of common allergens and is designed to help you make informed choices when you eat at Perkins. Always keep in mind, in a restaurant setting where there is no equipment dedicated to any particular foods, any menu item may contain trace amounts of ingredients from other menu items. Also, regional ingredient substitutions may occasionally occur. If you have any questions about food allergies or sensitivities, we recommend that you contact your medical professional.
Please note: regional items, limited time offers and test products are not included in this information. While we make every effort to keep this information up to date, it is possible that ingredient changes and substitutions can occur due to regional suppliers of ingredients or seasonal changes; therefore, we recommend that you visit our website for the latest nutritional information.
Perkins Gluten Free Menu
These are all the gluten free options we could find at Perkins. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on the Perkins Gluten Free Page. These items still have the potential for cross contamination and other traces of gluten, so please keep that in mind.
Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: May 12, 2022
These are all of the hearty extras options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Hash Browns
- Pork Sausage (Links & Patties)
- Turkey Sausage Patties
- Smoked Sausage
- All Fresh Fruit
3 Egg Omelets
These are all of the 3 egg omelet options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients. (Must be ordered without Pancakes, Mammoth Muffin®, Toast, Biscuits or Tots or Homestyle Potatoes)
- Everything Omelet and Granny’s Omelet and Hearty Harvest Omelet with fresh fruit and hash browns
These are all of the fresh-cracked classic options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients. (Must be ordered without Pancakes, Mammoth Muffin®, Toast, Biscuits or Tots or Homestyle Potatoes)
- Build-a-Breakfast with fresh fruit or hash browns
and choice of bacon, ham, pork sausage
(links or patties), turkey sausage or smoked sausage
- Hearty Mans Combo
- Steak Medallions
- Grilled Pork Chop (no sauce)
These are all of the soup options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients. (Must be ordered without Crackers)
- Tomato Basil
These are all of the salad options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients. (Must be ordered without Croutons)
- Garden Side Salad
- Chopped Cobb Salad
- Blue Cheese
- Honey Mustard
- White Balsamic Vinaigrette
- Fat Free Italian
- Fat Free Ranch
- Thousand Island
These are all of the comfort classic options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients. (Must be ordered without side choices of Rice or French Fries or Tots or Homestyle Potatoes)
- Grilled Salmon
- Grilled Tilapia
- Grilled Pork Chop (no sauce)
These are all of the side options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Garden Side Salad (without croutons)
- Asparagus Spears
- Green Beans with Bacon
- Fresh Broccoli
- Buttered Corn
- Fresh Spinach
- Baked Potato
- Mashed Potato (no gravy)
These are all of the drink options at Perkins that do not contain wheat/gluten ingredients.
- White Milk 2%
- Chocolate Milk
- Orange Juice
- Tomato Juice
- Grapefruit Juice
- Apple Juice
- Cranberry Juice
- Decaf Coffee
- Hot Tea
- Iced Tea
- Sweet Iced Tea
Photo: Perkins Facebook page
Items to Avoid at Perkins
- Be careful for cross contamination at Perkins, especially with croutons in salads.
- All of the fried items contain wheat/gluten.
- None of the bakery items are gluten free.
- Unsure about shakes, hot chocolate, and other beverages. Ask your server.
Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Perkins
Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Perkins
- Perkins has a limited number of gluten free options. There are some sides and meal choices, but compared to the entire menu it isn’t a lot to choose from.
- When you order, tell them you have a gluten allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your meal. Even if it’s delivery or pick up, make sure to include this in your order message.
- Perkins has a 3 star rating on Find Me Gluten Free with over 15 ratings. Most of the ratings were negative and mentioned the low number of options.
- See other top fast-food menus: McDonalds, Taco Bell, Burger King, Jack in the Box, Hardees
Source: Perkins Facebook page
More Information about Perkins
Looking for additional information about Perkins, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found:
- Official Perkins Menu: https://www.perkinsrestaurants.com/menu/
- Official Perkins Gluten Free Page: https://a.storyblok.com/f/99717/x/16b8d71e6c/gluten-info.pdf
- Official Perkins Nutritional Calculator: http://nc.perkinsrestaurants.com/PerkinsNC/