Alcohol Basics Health Lifestyle

Is Remy Martin Cognac Gluten Free?

Is Remy Martin Cognac Gluten Free?

Rémy Martin is a French firm that is well known for its production and distribution of cognac.

Based in the city of Cognac, Rémy Martin was founded in 1724 and is one of the largest cognac producers in the world. Rémy Martin is owned by the parent corporation Rémy Cointreau, a French spirits group that produces the brands: Louis XIII, Rémy Martin, Cointreau, Metaxa, Mount Gay, St-Rémy, Bruichladdich, The Botanist, Domaine Des Hautes Glaces, Westland Distillery, and Passoã.

Is Rémy Martin Cognac Gluten Free

The Answer is: YES

 

Cognac is a type of brandy, a spirit made from fruit. In the case of cognac, the fruit is exclusively grapes grown in the Cognac region of France, which is known for its aromatic superiority.

The use of the name cognac is protected under French law. It is AOC, Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée, and there are three main requirements to satisfy:

  1. First, it must be made from specific grape varieties, such as Ugni Blanc
  2. Second, it must be twice distilled in copper pot stills
  3. Third, it must be aged in oak barrels for at least two years

You can learn more about the distillation process here.

remy martin vintage bottle

 

The Remy Martin Collection

The Remy Martin Collection is made out of 5 main cognacs, and YES these are all gluten-free, so you have a variety of grades to choose from:

VSOP MATURE CASK FINISH: A perfect harmony between the firm character of ripe fruit and subtle notes of liquorice, offering a great complexity of elegant and powerful aromas.

1738 ACCORD ROYAL: The mellowness of butterscotch and baked spices with hints of dark chocolate.

XO: The perfect expression of Fine Champagne opulence on the palate with mature flavors of juicy plums and candied oranges, with a hint of hazelnuts and cinnamon

CARTE BLANCHE À BAPTISTE LOISEAU: Wonderful combination of sweet spices with cinnamon and honey.

CENTAURE DE DIAMANT: A myriad of flavors bursts forth, like the many facets of a diamond, with melting sensations of candied fruit.

 

Interesting Facts about Remy Martin Cognac

  1. The name Rémy Martin comes from the name of the company founder, born in 1695 near Rouillac. A winegrower by trade, in 1724 he created a trading house of cognac.
  2. Rémy Martin VSOP is the biggest selling VSOP cognac worldwide.

For more information on all the above champagne cognacs, as well as a number of cocktails and serving suggestions, visit remymartin.com

 

SEE ALSO – Gluten Free Alcohol List

Read next: Is Moet & Chandon Champagne Gluten Free?

You may also like
Is Nutella Gluten Free?
Is Nutella Gluten Free?
Is Bulmers Cider Gluten Free?
Is Bulmers Cider Gluten Free?

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.