Are Rowntrees Fruit Gums Gluten Free?

Rowntree’s Fruit Gums are a fruity, chewy sweet treat that were first introduced in 1893. See also: Are Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles Gluten Free?

These sweets are available in 5 flavours; orange, blackcurrant, strawberry, lemon and lime. Rowntree’s Fruit Gums are one of Nestle’s oldest current confectionery brands.

Let’s find out if this fruity chew is gluten-free.

 

Are Rowntrees Fruit Gums Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: YES*

Rowntrees Fruit Gums are gluten-free They contain real fruit juice and no artificial colours, flavours or preservatives. Fruit Gums do not contain wheat, barley, oats, rye or any added gluten.

*According to Nestle Gluten Free Avoidance List, Rowntrees Fruit Gums may…

contain small quantities of gluten considered safe for a gluten free diet (in compliance with Codex Alimentarius levels accepted by Coeliac UK.

For more information on the above statement and to get access to a complete list of gluten free products from the Nestle brand, check out Nestle Gluten Free Avoidance PDF here.

fruit gums

Photo: English Tea Store

 

Ingredients

Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Starch, Gelatine, Acids (Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid), Concentrated Fruit Juice (1%) (Blackcurrant, Strawberry, Orange, Lemon, Lime), Acidity Regulator (Trisodium Citrate), Flavourings, Colours (Anthocyanins, Carminic Acid, Copper Complexes of Chlorophyllins, Curcumin, Carotenes), Glazing Agent (Carnauba Wax)

Rowntrees Fruit Gums Nutritional Facts

Each 8 sweet serving consists of 81 calories. This consists of 18.7 carbs, 1.0g protein and 0.12g salt – source

For more information on Rowntrees, head over to the official website here – https://www.rowntrees.co.uk/our-products/rowntrees-fruit-gums/

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.