Are Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles Gluten Free?

Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles originated in Fawdon, Tyneside, England. They are small round fruity sweets with a jelly-like consistency, due to the gelatin they are made from and are covered with sugar.

Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are available in a combination of 5 flavours: lemon (yellow), lime (green), strawberry (red), blackcurrant (purple) and orange (orange).

Let’s find out if these small round fruity sweets are gluten-free.

Are Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO*


While Nestle shares they are safe for a gluten free diet, readers have commented that this is not the case so we cannot confirm Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles are gluten-free.

*According to Nestle Gluten Free Avoidance List, Rowntrees Fruit Gums may…

contain small quantities of gluten considered safe for a gluten free diet (in compliance with Codex Alimentarius levels accepted by Coeliac UK.

For more information on the above statement on Fruit Pastilles and to get access to a complete list of gluten free products from the Nestle brand, check out Nestle Gluten Free Avoidance PDF here.

rowntrees fruit pastilles

Photo: Wikipedia



Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Gelatine, Gum Arabic, Modified Starch, Concentrated Fruit Juice (1%) (Blackcurrant, Orange, Lime, Lemon, Strawberry), Acids (Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid), Acidity Regulator (Trisodium Citrate), Colours (Anthocyanins, Curcumin, Beta-Carotene, Copper Complexes of Chlorophyllins), Flavourings

Fruit Pastilles Nutritional Information

Each 7 sweet serving consists of 92 calories. This consists of 21 carbs, 1.1g protein, 1.0 fibre and 0.07g salt – source

For more information on Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles, head over to the official website here –

7 thoughts on “Are Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles Gluten Free?”

  1. No, they are not gluten free. I’ve tried these and gotten ill with gluten reaction. Rowntree list them as containing gluten but below codex level, which means the start and/or the glucose syrup are from a wheat source. Based on the reaction I had, I do not believe they even meet the codex requirement.

    • Thanks for the comment VS! We’ve updated our post based on your and other readers comments. We really appreciate it, thanks again!

    • Thanks Mark! Based on your and VS’s comments we’ve updated this post to reflect this information. We appreciate your feedback here. Thanks again!

  2. I ate a Rountrees Fruit Pastille today, and I have had a Gluten reaction since.
    This is not in my mind, even though there is no mention of gluten on the package.
    The manufacturers should mention in the contents that there are traces of gluten.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.