Wendy’s is one of the most popular fast food chains in the world with more than 6700 locations total. Known for their burgers, fries, frosties, and popular 4 for $4 options in the United States, many customers are wondering what kind of gluten free options Wendy’s might have. Let’s find out in this article.
What is gluten free at Wendy’s?
In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Wendy’s. Want to learn more nutritional facts about Wendy’s foods? Check out this page on their website.
Wendy’s also has a statement about Gluten Sensitivities on their website. The company states: ‘If you’re looking to avoid gluten-containing ingredients, we encourage you to view our menu on our website. A wheat allergen icon will indicate products that contain gluten from wheat, or you can view the product’s ingredient statement for the presence other gluten containing grains. While we provide known instances of wheat allergens and ingredient statements, please understand that instances of cross contact with other gluten containing grains are possible due to common handling and preparation areas in our restaurants.’
Wendy’s Gluten Free Menu
These are all the gluten free options we could find at Wendy’s. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on Wendy’s menu and ingredients. These items still have the potential for cross contamination and other traces of gluten, so please keep that in mind.
Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: September 7, 2021
These are all of the protein options at Wendy’s that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- Burger Patty
- Applewood Smoked Bacon
The grilled chicken comes into contact with gluten during the cooking process. Wendy’s menu states this for their grilled chicken ingredients:
“Grilled Chicken Breast: Chicken Breast, Water, Seasoning (Salt, Natural Flavors, Corn Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Spices, Dehydrated Garlic Powder, Dehydrated Onion Powder, Paprika, Gum Arabic, Yeast Extract, Canola Oil, Sodium Citrate, Sugar), Potato Starch, Carrageenan, Xanthan Gum, Soy Lecithin. CONTAINS: SOY, MILK. GRILLED, CLASSIC, AND SPICY CHICKEN BREASTS ARE CUT ON A COMMON CUTTING BOARD, WHICH RESULTS IN CROSS-CONTACT WITH WHEAT, SOY, AND MILK ALLERGENS.”
These are all of the salads at Wendy’s that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- Parmesan Caesar Salad**
- Southwest Avocado Salad**
- Taco Salad
- Apple Pecan Salad**
** SPICY/REGULAR CHICKEN BREASTS ARE CUT ON A COMMON CUTTING BOARD, WHICH RESULTS IN CROSS-CONTACT WITH WHEAT, SOY, AND MILK ALLERGENS.
We recommend either getting no chicken, or stating that you have a gluten allergy if you decide to order the salads with chicken.
These salad dressings were listed as free from wheat/gluten:
- Pomegranate Vinaigrette Dressing
- Signature Salsa
- Southwest Ranch Dressing
- Caesar Dressing
- Jalapeño Ranch Dressing
Soups, Sides, & Chili
These are all of the soups, sides, and chili at Wendy’s that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- French Fries**
- Seasoned Potatoes**
- Baconator Fries**
- Chili Cheese Fries**
- Cheese Fries**
- Sour Cream and Chive Baked Potato
- Plain Baked Potato
- Bacon Cheese Baked Potato
- Chili & Cheese Baked Potato
- Cheese Baked Potato
- Apple Bites
** Denotes ingredient is cooked on a surface with other gluten-containing foods OR in shared fryers—exposing ingredient to gluten cross-contact.
** Updated November 2, 2021: According to Celiac.com and other sources, Wendy’s is working to update their stores so that by the end of September 2021, all Wendy’s in the United States and Canada will have new fries. Unfortunately the fries may still be in a shared space and cannot be considered gluten free.
These are all of the desserts at Wendy’s that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- Classic Chocolate Frosty
- Vanilla Frosty
Coffee and Beverages
These are all of the coffee and beverage options at Wendy’s that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients:
- Cold Brew Iced Coffee
- Fresh Brewed Coffee
- Fresh Brewed Decaffeinated Coffee
- Vanilla Frosty®-ccino
- Chocolate Frosty®-ccino
- Peach Lemonade
- Tropical Berry Lemonade
- All-Natural Lemonade
- Strawberry Lemonade
- Coca-Cola Products
- Chocolate Milk
- Honest Kids Fruit Punch
- Simply Orange Juice
Photo(s): Wendy’s Menu
Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Wendy’s
Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Wendy’s.
- Wendy’s has lots of positive review for baked potatoes and salads.
- Tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your meal.
- The fries don’t contain gluten, but are in a shared fryer so keep that in mind.
- Many users reported issues with the burgers and chicken, but you can request they cook it separate.
- Enjoy Wendy’s chili, it’s gluten free! 🙂
More Information about Wendy’s
Looking for additional information about Wendy’s, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found: