Are Fudgsicles Gluten Free?

Fudgsicles, also known as fudge pops, are a popular chocolate ice cream treat from Popsicle! They are one of the iconic brands from Popsicle, and have been a best selling treat since 1946 according to the company.

Let’s find out if this chocolatey fudge frozen treat is free from wheat/gluten ingredients.

Are Fudgsicle Fudge Pops Gluten Free?



After further reviewing the ingredients, we cannot confirm Fudgsicles to be gluten free. They contain malt powder, which may be derived from wheat or barley.

According to the company: ‘It is the Popsicle® brand’s policy that when any of the eight most common allergens (milk, eggs, fish, wheat, tree nuts, peanuts, soybeans and crustaceans) occur in any of our products they will be listed inside the ingredient statement in plain language. We do not use the terms “natural” or “artificial flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. We do not have dedicated production lines in our manufacturing facilities for products containing allergens. We have special handling procedures for all allergenic ingredients used in our manufacturing facilities.’

Please proceed with caution if you have a gluten allergy or Celiac Disease, as these products are not confirmed gluten free by Popsicle. This article was last updated on: September 19, 2022


fudgsicles popsicle

Photo: Popsicle Facebook page


Fudgsicle Ingredients

Nonfat Milk, Maltodextrin, Sorbitol, Polydextrose, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Whey, Palm Oil, Contains 1 Percent Or Less Of Each Of The Following: Tricalcium Phosphate, Cellulose Gel, Mono And Diglycerides, Cellulose Gum, Malt Powder, Salt, Guar Gum, Aspartame, Polysorbate 80, Acesulfame Potassium, Polysorbate 65, Citric Acid, Carrageenan, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Caramel Color, Locust Bean Gum. Phenylketonurics: Contains Phenylalanine.


Fudgsicle Nutritional Facts

Serv. Size: 2 Bars (82g), Servings per container 4, Amount Per Serving: Calories 80, Fat Cal. 15, Total Fat 1.5g, Sodium 95mg, Total Carb. 19g, Dietary Fiber 4g, Sugars 5g, Protein 3g.

Visit the Fudgsicle Fudge Pops page on Popsicle’s official website here:

4 thoughts on “Are Fudgsicles Gluten Free?”

  1. Malt containes gluten. Many fudge pops also use a malted barley extract. Also containing gluten. My daughter has celiac and has gotten sick from these fudge pops. Just a heads up for those who have celaic.

    • Thanks for the heads up Jaymie. While the company does have a policy to list all allergens, we have updated this post to reflect the information in your comment, and other reader’s comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

  2. I agree with the previous comment Jaymie. It isn’t safe to spread fake information, and most people who are allergic to gluten are also allergic to malt as it is derived from barley. I am also celiac, and I can say from my experience as well. THEY ARE NOT GLUTEN FREE. Please be extremely careful.

    • Thanks for your comment Sarabeth. After reviewing the ingredients again, we’ve updated this post. Thanks for sharing your experience and helping others with Celiac Disease and gluten allergies/intolerances.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.