Boba, another name for Bubble Tea, is a popular drink that originated in Taiwan in the early 1980s. Since then it has exploded in popularity and can be found all over the world.
What is Boba?
Goba Tea does a great job describing it on their article:
‘When someone says ‘Boba tea’, they are referencing a traditionally cold-served beverage that has a tea base, a milk or fruit flavor, and edible pearls (the ‘boba’ in boba tea) inside a cup.
Boba tea has many aliases which tends to confuse the heck out of people. You may have heard one or many of these phrases used, but you should know they all mean the same thing: bubble tea, pearl tea, bubble milk tea, boba, boba fruit tea or tapioca tea.
Boba Tea has become increasingly popular over the past few years. This is in large part due to the new and unique consumption experience of having tasty edible pearls in a beverage!’
Let’s see if boba contains any wheat/gluten ingredients. We’ll find out below . . .
Related question: Are Hops Gluten Free?