Gluten Free Alcohol List

The restrictions of a gluten-free diet can be frustrating, especially when you want to sit back and enjoy a few drinks.

But whilst normal beers are off the menu, there’s still plentiful options for generating a buzz.

To give you a helping hand, we’ve put together a list of gluten-free alcohols, covering widely available brands of vodka, tequila, rum, gin & whiskey.

Confirmed Gluten-Free

Each of the alcohols listed below with a green check mark has been confirmed gluten-free either by the manufacturer or third-party sources.

You can verify this by clicking on any individual item and reading the related blog post.

With that said, it’s also important to listen to your body and decide whether a drink is suitable for you. For some alcohols like gin and whisky, where grains are used in the production, although certified gluten-free, may not be suitable for everyone.

Naturally Gluten Free Alcohols

As coeliacs ourselves, we know the pain of mistakenly eating something we shouldn’t, so it’s a smart move to do your research beforehand.

Believe it or not, there’s actually a large number of alcoholic beverages which are naturally gluten-free. These include things like cider, wine, rum, 100% agave tequila, grappa, brandy, cognac and others.

Learn more by checking out the individual lists below.

Gluten Free Alcohol List

Gluten Free Rum List

Rum is made from sugarcane and molasses. As so, both light & dark rums are naturally gluten-free. Rum based cocktails like mojitos, daiquiris, Cuba libres & piña coladas are all gluten-free and safe for coeliacs.

Plantation Rum

Plantation Rum

Gluten Free Tequila List

Tequila is made from the agave plant, which should mean that all tequilas are gluten-free. However, cheaper tequilas are allowed to mix up to 49% non-agave based alcohol into their formula.

To ensure that your tequila is safe to drink, always try to buy tequilas labelled as 100% agave. By buying 100% agave based tequila, you ensure your drink is naturally gluten free.

Gluten Free Gin List

Gin is a tricky one. Most people believe that gin is distilled from botanicals – like herbs, spices and flowers – and is therefore gluten-free. However, whilst it is true that gin is infused with botanicals, and then re-distilled, all gins actually use neutral grain alcohol as a base.

This means that most gins actually start life made from grains like wheat, and although many gin distilleries claim their product is gluten-free, many people sensitive to gluten claim to struggle with consuming gins.


Gluten Free Vodka List

It’s a common misconception that all vodkas are produced using potatoes. It is, in fact, much more common for vodkas to be distilled using grains like wheat and barley. For the most part, this shouldn’t be an issue. The distillation process of alcohols like vodka and gin is said to remove all impurities – though this is disputed.

However, for now, all we have to go off is either the manufacturer’s word, or stick to vodkas that’s distilled using non-grain ingredients.



Gluten Free Hard Seltzers

Alcoholic Seltzers are all the craze now and we’ve got the top gluten free hard seltzer options for you!


Gluten Free Hard Ciders

The best gluten free hard ciders. Alcoholic drinks made from apples, pears, and other fruits!

  • One Tree Hard Ciders (All ciders are naturally gluten free and vegan)

  • Angry Orchard Hard Ciders

  • Bulmer’s Hard Cider

  • Harpoon Brewery Craft Cider

  • Downeast Cider

  • Dorchester Brewing Co – Down to The Core Cider


Yeast Free Alcohol

If you are also allergic to yeast, here are some yeast free options as well.

  • Vodka (see types above)
  • Tequila (see options listed above)
  • Bombay Sapphire Gin
  • Tanqueray Gin


Find out more about your favorite alcohols:


jack daniel's gluten free

Who is this list for?

Anyone! Find out which alcohols and liquors are gluten free and which are not so you can be sure to stay safe when drinking and/or cooking with alcoholic beverages.

Read Next: Gluten Free Cocktails →


More Information

This comprehensive list will be updated as we find more information on gluten free alcohols. Page last updated June 25, 2021.

Have a question or tip? Contact us here!


More Lists!