Is Don Julio Tequila Gluten Free?

Don Julio Tequila is a famous brand of tequila that is manufactured, bottled, sold, and distributed by Tequila Don Julio, S.A. de C.V. In the USA is distributed by Diageo via a licensing agreement with the former company.

Diageo own or license a large number of brands including Guinness, Johnnie Walker, Bell’s, Smirnoff and Gordons Gin, just to name a few.

According to Don Julio, it is ” the world’s original handcrafted luxury premium tequila “.

Let find out if this  “luxury premium tequila” is gluten-free.

Is Don Julio Tequila Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES


Most premium tequila such as Don Julio is gluten free because it is distilled purely from the agave plant. The process does not include adding colors or flavors, so the remaining product is simply pure agave aged in white oak barrels for the best possible taste. Don Julio has a great page on their craft and process here.

If you are sensitive to gluten or suffer from Celiac Disease, Don Julio is a great choice of tequila that can be taken straight or added as a base to your favorite gluten-free cocktail.

don julio gluten free

Photo: Wikimedia Commons


Here is a list of the Don Julio Tequila:

  • BLANCO – Crisp agave flavor with hints of citrus.

  • REPOSADO – A mellow, elegant flavor with inviting aromas.

  • AÑEJO – Rich, distinctive and wonderfully complex.

  • 70® – The world’s first Añejo Claro Tequila.

  • 1942® – An homage to Don Julio; the man who started it all.

  • REAL® – The crown jewel of the Tequila Don Julio portfolio.

  • REPOSADO DOUBLE CASK TEQUILA – A remarkable depth of flavor in every bottle.

  • REPOSADO PRIVATE CASK TEQUILA – For those who sip responsibly.

  • REPOSADO DOUBLE CASK TEQUILA LAGAVULIN AGED EDITION – A remarkable depth of flavor in every bottle.

For more information on all the above Don Julio Tequilas and much more head over to

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.