Subway Gluten Free Menu Items and Options

Subway is a popular fast food sub chain that started in America in 1965. Now, Subway has over 41,000 locations worldwide in over 100 countries. The company is known for $5 footlong subs and other sandwiches.

Being so world famous, many people all over are wondering . . .


What is gluten free at Subway?

In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free options available at Subway. Want to see all the Nutritional Information about Subway foods? Check out this page on their website.


Subway Gluten Free Menu

These are all gluten free options we could find at Subway. Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: September 24, 2020


Gluten Free Bread

Some Subway locations are now offering gluten free bread. It is not that common, yet, but it may be available in your area. Subway shares this information about their gluten free bread: “Not baked in-restaurant. The Gluten-Free bread is manufactured in a gluten-free facility. However, other menu items and ingredients in our restaurants contain gluten and are prepared on shared equipment, so we cannot guarantee that our menu items are 100% gluten-free.”

No other bread, wraps, or rolls are gluten free at Subway. Only the pre-packaged gluten free bread.


Meats, Poultry, Seafood

Subway has a lot of different meats, poultry, and seafood that you can put on your sandwich. Most are gluten free, these include: Bacon Strips, Chicken Patty (Roasted), Chicken Strips (Plain), Cold Cut Combo Meats, Ham (Black Forest), Italian BMT (Ham, Pepperoni, Salami), Pepperoni, Roast Beef, Rotisserie Style Chicken, Spicy Italian (Pepperoni, Salami), Steak, Tuna, Turkey Breast.

These two meat items are NOT gluten free at Subway: Chicken Strips (Teriyaki Glazed) and Meatballs & Marinara

Some Subway locations also offer these meats that are gluten free: BBQ Pulled Pork, BBQ Rib Patty, Chicken Salad, Chicken Strips (Buffalo Chicken), Corned Beef, Orchard Chicken Salad, Pastrami, Sausage (Breakfast).

These five meat items available at some Subway locations are NOT gluten free: Chicken Enchilada, Falafel, Seafood Sensation, Veggie Patty (Vegetarian), Vegan Patty (Malibu)



Subway has a wide range of vegetables including: Cucumbers, Green Peppers, Lettuce, Red Onions, Spinach, Tomatoes, Banana Peppers, Jalapeños, Black Olives, Pickles

Some Subway locations also have: Avocado, Carrots, Guacamole, Sweet Peppers

All of these vegetables are naturally gluten free, but they may come into contact with gluten from the sandwich making process or where the bread is sliced.



Subway has a variety of cheeses including: American and Monterey Cheddar

Some locations also offer: Feta, Mozzarella, Cheddar, Pepperjack, Provolone, Swiss

All Subway cheeses are gluten free, but again, they may come into contact with gluten from the sandwich making process or where the bread is sliced.



Most of the Subway sauces and condiments are gluten free including: Chipotle Southwest, Light or Regular Mayonnaise, Ranch, Oil, Subway Vinaigrette, Mustard, Vinegar, Sweet Onion

Some Subway restaurants also have these sauces which are gluten free too: Barbecue, Buffalo, Creamy Italian, Gorgonzola, Golden Italian, Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce, Hot Pepper Relish, Horseradish, Honey Mustard, Savory Caesar, Smoky Hickory, Sweet Chili, Sriracha, Tzatziki Cucumber

Related: Is Sriracha Hot Sauce Gluten Free?


Extras and Other Condiments

Subway also offers Egg and Egg White Omelets, Egg Salad, and Egg Patties that are all gluten free.



Subway offers a wide variety of soups, with quite a few that are gluten free. They are: Black Bean Soup, Broccoli and Cheddar Soup, Mediterranean Vegetable Soup, Spicy Chicken Tortilla Soup, and Tomato Basil Soup.

The following soups at Subway are NOT gluten free: Beef Chili, Creamy Chicken and Dumpling Soup, Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup, French Onion Soup, Homestyle Chicken Noodle Soup, Loaded Baked Potato Soup.


Cookies and Desserts

Unfortunately, Subway does not have many gluten free cookies or desserts. They offer two options for people with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy. They are: Apple Slices, Gluten Free Brownie (select locations)

All cookies, brownies (except for the GF pre-packaged brownie at select locations), muffins, and cinnamon rolls at Subway are NOT gluten free.

subway retail location

Photo: Random Retail


More Information about Subway

Looking for additional information about Subway, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found:

Find a Subway location near you on this page for the United States, and this page for worldwide.

6 thoughts on “Subway Gluten Free Menu Items and Options”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.