Are Refreshers Gluten Free?

Refresher chew bars were invented 60 years ago. They are iconic chewy bars with added fizz!  They are available in 3 flavors, lemon, strawberry, and apple.

Let find out if these iconic chewy bars are gluten-free.

Are Refreshers Sweets Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES


According to Swizzels Matlow, the company behind Refreshers:

Suitable for

Please note that products and their ingredients can sometimes change. With this in mind, please always ensure that you read the label before consuming our products and never rely solely on the information provided here.

It is, therefore, safe to assume that Refreshers are safe to consume. However, you should be cautious and pay careful attention to the label as ” products and their ingredients can sometimes change.”



Photo: Swizzels


Refreshers Single Chews Lemon

Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oil (palm, Palm Kernel), Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Gelling Agent: Gelatine; Stearic Acid, Modified Starch, Emulsifier: Glycerol Mono Stearate; Flavourings, Anti-caking Agent: Magnesium Carbonate; Magnesium Stearate, Colour: Lutein.


Nutritional Information

Here are the average values per 100g of Refreshers Single Chews Lemon. Every 100g contains 408 calories. This consists of 87.9g carbs, 0.3g protein, and 5.5g fat.


For more information on Refresher, head over to Swizzels Matlow website here: 

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.