Are Black Forest Gummy Bears Gluten Free?

Black Forest Gummy Bears are a popular brand of gummy candies that was originally developed in Germany in 1983. They were initially launched by the Foreign Candy Company, the same company that makes Rips Candy. Now, Black Forest Snacks are owned by Ferrara, the American subsidiary of the Ferrero Group.

These gummies have long been a popular brand, known for their delicious and natural fruit flavors. They are also now known for their organic offerings.

Let’s find out if these popular gummy bears are free from wheat and gluten ingredients . . .

Are Black Forest Gummy Bears Gluten Free?



Yes, all Black Forest Gummy Candies and Snacks are gluten free! The company shares on their website, ‘Yep! All of our gummies and fruit flavored snacks are either gluten free or Certified Gluten Free. And don’t forget, every delicious bag is fat free, too!’.

The reason they state that not all products are certified gluten free is explained on their FAQ page. It says ‘Ferrara Candy Company (our parent) maintains several manufacturing and packaging facilities – some are free from some or all of the “Big 8” allergens but others are not. So please refer to your product packaging, as it contains the most current ingredient and allergen statements.’


Black Forest Gummy Snacks Products

  • Classic Gummy Bears
  • Gummy Worms
  • Swirly Bears
  • Organic Gummy Worms
  • Organic Gummy Bears
  • Organic Forest Critters
  • Organic Exotic Bears
  • Juicy Bears
  • Juicy Bunnies
  • Fruit Snacks – Organic Mixed Fruit
  • Fruit Snacks – Organic Berry Medley
  • Fruit Snacks – Juicy Burst: Mixed Fruit
  • Fruit Snacks – Juicy Burst: Berry Medley


black forest gummy candy products

Photo: Black Forest USA website


Black Forest Classic Gummy Bears Ingredients

Corn Syrup, Sugar, Gelatin, Modified Food Starch (Corn),Citric Acid, Apple Juice From Concentrate, Sodium Citrate, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Coconut Oil*, Colors (Black Carrot Juice, Beta-Carotene, Spirulina Extract, Turmeric), Carnauba Wax*. *Adds a trivial amount of fat.


Black Forest Classic Gummy Bears Nutrition Facts

Serving Size: 9 pieces
Calories: 100
Fat: 0g
Sugars: 15g
Protein: 2g


Other Nutritional Facts about Black Forest Gummies

  • Colors are derived from plants and real sources, not chemicals. ‘With Black Forest products, many of the colors you see are derived from plant-based sources. THAT’s something to feel good about!’
  • Products contain real fruit juice. ‘We use fruit juice* to keep our snacks tasting…fruity.’
  • Products are not vegan. ‘We use pork gelatin to achieve the perfect yummy, gummy chew.’


Source for ingredients and nutrition facts:

Visit the official Black Forest USA website here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.