Are Maynards Bassetts Jelly Babies Gluten Free?

Maynards Bassetts Jelly Babies are a type of soft sugar jelly sweet, shaped as plump babies in a variety of colours. They were first manufactured in Lancashire, England, in the 19th century.

Maynards Bassetts Jelly Babies are a true confectionery classic that is loved by kids and adults alike.

They are made with real fruit juice, natural colours and flavours but are they free of gluten.

Let’s find out.

Are Maynards Bassetts Jelly Babies Gluten Free?

The Answer is: No

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Bassetts Jelly Babies may contain Wheat. Wheat is one of the main gluten-containing ingredients that you must avoid if you are gluten intolerant or suffer from any form of Coeliac Disease.

Jelly Babies

It is, therefore, safe to say that Maynards Bassetts Jelly Babies are NOT gluten-free.


Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Water, Gelatine, Concentrated Fruit Juices** (1 %) (Apple, Lime, Orange, Strawberry, Blackcurrant, Lemon, Raspberry), Acid (Citric Acid), Flavourings, Colours (Anthocyanins, Paprika Extract, Vegetable Carbon, Lutein, Curcumin), **Equivalent to 5.5 % Fruit Juice.

Allergy Information

May contain Wheat

Nutritional Facts

Every 100g of Maynards Bassetts Jelly Babies consumed contains 330 calories. This consists of 78g carbs, 3.5g protein, less than 0.1g fat, and 0.02g of salt.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.