Are Haribo Jelly Babies Gluten Free?

Haribo Jelly Babies is a popular gummy candy made in the shape of a baby and available in a combination of fruity flavours. Haribo is a German confectionery company which produces this brand of Jelly Baby. The company was founded in 1920 by Johannes “Hans” Riegel, Sr.

Let’s find out if this popular candy is gluten free . . .

Are Haribo Jelly Babies Gluten Free

The Answer is: NO

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Haribo Jelly Babies contain glucose which is derived from corn or wheat, though they do not directly contain wheat. Haribo Gummy Bears are listed on many websites and forums as not being gluten-free.

It is best to avoid these gummy bears if you are sensitive to gluten or suffer from any form of celiac disease.

Always pay careful attention to the label and if in doubt consider calling the customer helpline number for more info.

haribo jelly babies

Photo: Makro



Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Gelatine, Acid: Citric Acid, Flavouring, Fruit and Plant Concentrates: Apple, Aronia, Blackcurrant, Carrot, Elderberry, Grape, Hibiscus, Kiwi, Lemon, Mango, Orange, Passion Fruit, Safflower, Spirulina, Glazing Agents: Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, Caramelised Sugar Syrup, Elderberry Extract.

Nutritional information

There are 57.6 calories in 7 pieces serving of Haribo Jelly Babies. This consists of 13.6 carbs, 0.8g protein, and 0.41g salt. More details here.

For more information on Haribo head over to the official website:


2 thoughts on “Are Haribo Jelly Babies Gluten Free?”

  1. Although glucose may be derived from wheat as a monosaccharide it does not contain gluten. Therefore these sweets and others containing glucose do not gain any gluten from glucose.
    Other makes of jelly babies do list wheat in their ingredients and do affect my husband. He can eat Harriso jelly babies without issue though.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.